karmachoden

Spontaneous expression of thoughts and emotions in words.

LETTER TO A DAUGHTER- (3rd December 2012)

My little sweet heart,

You turned 13th on 1st December 2012. The only birthday gift you asked was an outing with your friends for a pizza treat. At first I wasn’t sure whether to let you go on your own with your buddies. But then on the second thought I felt I should allow you to explore things with your friends. Then there was your happiness to be considered.

Your brother and I went to Changangkha Lhakhang to offer butter lamps for you. Besides, your birthday is marked as International Day for HIV –AIDS. And I thought there wouldn’t be better day than your birthday to offer butter lamps for all the victims of HIV-AIDS. I prayed for your well being along with prayers for a peaceful living for all the people in Bhutan and around the world suffering from HIV-AIDS.

Remember, last year we dedicated your birthday to the five brave people suffering from HIV-AIDS who came out in the open to talk about themselves and to create awareness to the people of Bhutan.  It takes guts and balls to come out in the open especially in a society where little is known about the disease. People still stigmatize those with the diseases. It is a terrible thing to be living not only with the disease but to bear the stigmatization by the society.  So much needs to be done to create awareness so that the victims of HIV-AIDS don’t have to go through a hell.

My dear girl, as you grow up, I want you to realize that your birthday is a very special day. You grow up not only realizing the implications of getting affected with HIV-AIDS but you also grow up realizing the importance of supporting those affected with the disease. I thought it is worth sharing the following message of His Majesty Druk Gyalpo King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck that says, “I believe that the goodness of a person is at its purest in the young. And this is the root from which all hope and optimism about the future springs. After all it is the goodness in human nature that overcomes all obstacles. HIV/AIDS is no exception. The youth will use their strength of character to reject undesirable activities; their compassion to aid those afflicted; and their will to prevent its spread.

Now you are entering into a teenage stage and it’s a very important land mark in one’s growth. This is also the stage where one may be tempted to experiment with different things and stuffs.  You may be faced with peer pressure. You may face the dilemma of entering into relationships. You may even be seduced into sexual relationship.

Yes, you may be put into test for all these but all you have to do is keep to yourself. Keep your self- restrain and maintain your self control.  However, should there come such a circumstances where things are unavoidable always make sure that you use preventive measures such as condoms. 

I have always felt that it is never too early neither too late to talk about sex education. Safe sex practice is very essential for a woman. Unsafe sex can bring about lots of undesired and unwanted problems. You may be at risk of teenage pregnancy, sexually transmitted diseases and most of all HIV-AIDS.  Though HIV-AIDS is also spread by use of infected syringe, through infected blades in the saloon, or through mother to the un-born, one of the foremost transmission is done through sexual intercourse with the affected person.  I take it as my responsibility to let you know of these facts so you can make the right decisions when you encounter any situations where you may be tempted to try out any sexual act.

My little sweet heart, teenage is also a time when one may experience lots of stress.  Stress from wanting to look beautiful, wanting to own beautiful clothes and shoes, wanting to own what others have, and not having enough money to buy all these. It is natural for a teenager to feel these wants.  However, whenever you go through this, remember I am always there for you. I want you to come and talk to me and together we can make it through.

Hey by the way, I am so glad I let you celebrate your birthday with your friends. I could see the shine on your face the moment you came home that evening. I did not regret my decision to let you go. In fact I was so happy that you had such a wonderful day out.

Lastly, I want you to always remember that no matter what transpires between us and no matter how old you grow, you will always be my little sweet heart, my greatest source of happiness and joy and my most treasured gem.

I love you and will be there for you whenever you need me.

 

 

 

Your Loving MOMZEE!!!!!!!

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “LETTER TO A DAUGHTER- (3rd December 2012)

  1. tshering on said:

    well written and a very good lesson for your daughter too………..

  2. Thanks Tshering for making sure that you read what i write…

Leave a Reply

