karmachoden

Spontaneous expression of thoughts and emotions in words.

New Year and Resolutions

20131231_102634

The culprit of my Tongue inflammation!

Some few days back, Dawa Tshering @thedawaring in Twitter asked me if I made any New Year Resolutions to which I replied that I don’t make any resolutions. That I just go with the flow based on my principles and values. Now on the eve of New Year my entire thought system has taken a shift. I felt a great urge to make one strong, practical, realistic, doable and achievable resolution. This strong feeling came in the wee hour of the new year eve when I was still half way through my sleep.

I got up in my half sleep with a sever inflammation  on my entire tongue. I could barely move my tongue. It was burning severely and my sleep got disturbed. I could not bring myself to go back to sleep again. It was at that point of time that I just ran over in my mind what caused me such a severe inflammation on my tongue and what should I be doing to prevent such things in future. The answer was right there within me. All I had to do was to gather my will power and stand by it.

So what was the cause of the inflammation? I know I was going very strong with this stuff called RAJNIGANDHA supposed to be flavoured pan masala made from Assam in India. The cover says, ‘World’s largest selling premium pan masala. superb in freshness and taste.’ Without my knowledge I had unconsciously become addicted to the stuff. I would finish two to three large packets costing Nu. 50 for each packet a day.

When I came to my realization, I had already become the victim of this addiction. I even ignored the many advises my friends and colleagues gave me. Some of them even told me that this stuff contains small pieces of broken glasses just so that the glasses can cut the tongue so the addictive substance in Rajnigandha can be absorbed by the tongue thus leading to addiction. I ignored even that advise. I suffered from breathing problems. Everyone attributed it to rajnigandha except myself. I had stomach problems. My family members blamed it on rajnigandha except myself.

Now I realize that it indeed is this stuff that was and is associated with all the health problems I suffered from. And what better day than on the eve of the new year to come to this realization. So my one and the only new year resolution for 2014 is to give up completely on rajnigandha. I also advise everyone to refrain from getting into the habit of chewing this stuff. I tell you, it can really drag you into it and you will find it very difficult to come out of this once you get addicted to it.

Will it and you can do it.

“Willpower is trying very hard not to do something you want to do very much.” – John Ortberg

Wishing everyone a Happy New Year 2014 filled with joy, peace, success, good health and lots of wealth. May 2014 be the year that all of you out there have been waiting for. My sincerest prayers and blessings on your way.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

