karmachoden

Spontaneous expression of thoughts and emotions in words.

Eulogy on the demise of Shakespeare from Bhutanese curriculum

My thoughts on the removal of Shakespeare from our curriculum. I was feeling nostalgic going through Shakespeare’s works and most  importantly I was flipping though the pages of Julius Caesar which actually motivated me to write the following lines:

Friends, Bhutanese, countrymen, lend me your ears;
I come to bury Shakespeare, not to praise him.
The evil that men do lives after them,
The good is oft interred with their bones;
So let it be with Shakespeare.
Our noble curriculum reviewers hath told you Shakespeare was archaic;
And grievously hath the Bhutanese English curriculum answered it.
Here under the leave of curriculum reviewers and the rest,
For curriculum reviewers are honourable men;
So are they all, all honourable men-
Come I to speak in Shakespeare’s funeral.
He was my friend, faithful and just to me;
And curriculum reviewers say he was archaic,
And curriculum reviewers are honourable men.
Shakespeare hath brought many linguistics integration to Bhutan,
Whose ransom did Shakespeare’s coffer fill:
Did in this Shakespeare seem archaic?
When the thirsty learners have sought,
Shakespeare hath quenched the thirst;
Yet curriculum reviewers say Shakespeare was archaic.
And curriculum reviewers are honourable men.
I speak not to disapprove the curriculum reviewers,
But here I am to speak what I do know.
You did love Shakespeare once not with out cause:
What causes withholds you not to mourn his removal?
O judgement, thou art fled to unreasonable thoughts,
And men have lost their reasons.
Bear with me;
My heart is in the coffin there with Shakespeare,
And I must pause till it come back to me.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Eulogy on the demise of Shakespeare from Bhutanese curriculum

  1. A nice composition eulogy indeed madam. Although I read it even in your Facebook post, I liked the influence you have gathered from this Bard’s play.
    At one time when the world was celebrating the 400th death anniversary of this Bard of Avon, I also wrote some of my reminiscences here (http://dumchowangdi.blogspot.com/2016/04/shakespeare-has-literally-died.html).
    Keep writing madam.

    • Very well reflected Dumcho. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with me. And yes you are right. The plays used to fascinate us so much so that we would connect ourselves with the characters in the plays and always quote Shakespeare wherever relevant. For instance if we see a think and lanky student, we would say, “be ‘ware of Cassius, he is lean and thin”, anytime we foresee a danger, we would happily chirp, “be aware of the Ides of March” and do on. Words like ‘thou’, ‘thy’, ‘thine’ used to be a part of our everyday language. In fact we would use Shakespearean language at every opportunity we can grab.

      That was the charm of having Shakespeare amidst our everyday learning which sadly our this generation of children are deprived of.

Leave a Reply

